Skip to main content

Expert Resource Guide

Accreditation / Academic Compliance

Stacey F. Jones
Provost & VP Academic Affairs
757-823-8408
vpaa@nsu.edu
Expertise: Science, technology, engineering, mathematics, higher education, accreditation

Astronomy

Carlos-Salgado-tn-(1).pngCarlos Salgado
Professor
757-823-8909
carlos@nsu.edu
Expertise: Particle astrophysics, Rapid Response Robotic Telescope (RRRT), Gamma-ray burst, Blazars, Supernova, Near Earth Objects (NEO)

Biology

Duncan-Howard-tn-(1).png

Howard Duncan
Professor
757-823-8940
hbduncan@nsu.edu
Expertise: Pre-med, clinical parasitology, health careers, cancer & disparities

Camellia-Okpodu-tn-(1).pngCamellia Okpodu
Professor
757-823-8957
cmokpodu@nsu.edu
Expertise: Plants, fight or flight response in plants, etc.

Business

J-Stanley-Brown-tn-(1).pngJosephine Stanley-Brown
Instructor
757-823-2535
jsbrown@nsu.edu
Expertise: Business in higher education


Cultural Studies

Page-Laws-tn-(1).pngPage Laws
Dean - Honors College
757-823-8208
prlaws@nsu.edu
Expertise: African Diaspora, Comparative literature, Film, Drama, French, German studies

Cyber Security

George-Hsieh-tn-(1).pngGeorge Hsieh (Shay)
Professor
757-823-8313
ghsieh@nsu.edu
Expertise: Big data, cloud, analytics, cyber security

Aurelia-Williams-tn-(1).pngAurelia Williams
Department Head / Computer Science
757-823-8579
atwilliams@nsu.edu
Expertise: Cybersecurity, IT network security, information assurance

Education

Andrew-Arroyo-tn-(1).pngAndrew Arroyo
Associate Professor
757-823-2878
atarroyo@nsu.edu
Expertise: Living-learning communities, minority education, minority-serving institutions, HBCUs, black student success, student affairs

Denise-Littleton-tn-(1).pngDenise Littleton
Dean
757-823-8701
dlittleton@nsu.edu
Expertise: Secondary and early childhood education

Leon-Rouson-tn-(1).pngLeon Rouson
Associate Professor, Executive Director – Teacher Prep Project
757-823-2260
lrouson@nsu.edu
Expertise: Diversity issues in education, Emotional intelligence theory, Black male studies, Math education (PK-6)

Engineering and Materials Research

Messaoud-Bahoura-tn-(1).pngMessaoud Bahoura
Associate Professor
757-823-2672
mbahoura@nsu.edu
Expertise: Engineering and materials research

Mikhail-Noginov-tn-(1).pngMikhail Noginov
Professor, Eminent Scholar
757-823-2204
mnoginov@nsu.edu
Expertise: Plasmonics, Nanoplasmomic systems, solid-state lasers, Holographic materials, etc.

Natalia-Noginova-(1).pngNatalia Noginova
Professor
757-823-2289
nnoginova@nsu.edu
Expertise: Nanostructured magnetic material, New magnetic and optical materials, Spin dynamics in nanoscale, etc.

Kyo-Song-sm-(1).pngKyo Song
Professor and Chair - Engineering and Center for Materials Research
757-823-2692
ksong@nsu.edu
Expertise: Materials science, high-temperature materials, smart materials, smart optics, wireless power transmission, microwave safety, neural sensing, the SCRAM jet engine
 

Film and Media

Dr-William-Hart-(1).pngWilliam Hart
Faculty
757-823-2661
wbhart@nsu.edu
Expertise: Classic and modern film critique; Film adaptation issues

Cathy-Jackson-tn-(1).pngCathy Jackson
Associate Professor
757-823-2442
cmjackson@nsu.edu
Expertise: Classic and modern film critique; Film adaptation issues; Stereotypes in film

Page-Laws-tn-(1).pngPage Laws
Dean - Honors College
757-823-8208
prlaws@nsu.edu
Expertise: Classic and modern film critique; Film adaptation issues

Gaming & Simulation

Rasha-Morsi-tn-(1).pngRasha Morsi
Professor Engineering & Graduate Program Coordinator
757-823-0047
rmorsi@nsu.edu
Expertise: Simulation, gaming in education
 

Health Disparities

Cynthia-Burwell-tn-(1).pngCynthia Burwell
Associate Professor
757-823-8703
cburwell@nsu.edu
Expertise: Health disparities, obesity, HIV/AIDS, community health education programming
 

Health Issues

Mildred-Fuller-tn-(1).pngMildred Fuller
Professor, Nursing and Allied Health
757-823-8408
mdfuller@nsu.edu
Expertise: SACSCOC, accreditation, health services mgmt.

Sheila-Ward-tn-(1).pngSheila Ward
Professor
757-823-8459
sward@nsu.edu
Expertise: HIV/AIDS, Women's/Couples health issues

History

William-Alexander-tn-(1).pngWilliam Alexander
Professor
757-537-0816
whalexander@nsu.edu
Expertise: Modern European history; African Diaspora history; comparative world history; race relations; current events

Geoffroy-de-Laforcade-tn-(1).pngGeoffroy de Laforcade
Professor / Director International Studies
757-823-2080
gdelaforcade@nsu.edu
Expertise: International Studies: Expertise: Study Abroad, Service-Learning, Civic Engagement, International Curriculum Development, Latin America and the Caribbean, Africa, Europe, the Global South

Charles-Ford-tn-(1).pngCharles Ford
Professor
757-823-8344
chford@nsu.edu
Expertise: Virginia history, Norfolk history, etc.


Kay-Lewis-tn-(1).pngKay Wright Lewis
Assistant Professor
757-823-8465
klewis@nsu.edu
Expertise: American history, African Diaspora, civil rights movement in America, history of violence between blacks and whites in America and the African Diaspora


Khadijah-Miller-tn-(1).pngKhadijah O. Miller
Associate Professor/ Department Head
757-823-2864
komiller@nsu.edu
Expertise: African American history, Women's history


Eddie-Modlin-(1).pngE Arnold Modlin, Jr.
Assistant Professor of Geography & Interim Director of International Studies, Service Learning and Civic Engagement
757-823-9457
eamodlin@nsu.edu
Expertise: Cultural and Social Geography, Plantation Museums, Critical Analysis of Tourism, Qualitative Research Methods


Cassandra-Newby-Alexander-tn-(1).pngCassandra Newby-Alexander
Professor
757-823-2268
clnewby-alexander@nsu.edu
Expertise: Black history, slavery, civil war, race, Portsmouth's black history, history of public schools in Hampton Roads


Stephanie-Richmond-tn-(1).pngStephanie Richmond
Asstant Professor
757-823-9073
sjrichmond@nsu.edu
Expertise:
Women's history, abolition of slavery (Britain and US), women's rights, pre-Civil War American history, digital humanities
 

International Studies

Geoffroy-de-Laforcade-tn-(1).pngGeoffroy de Laforcade
Associate Professor
757-823-2080
gdelaforcade@nsu.edu
Expertise:
Latin America, Cuba, South Africa
 

Nutrition

Jill-Comess-(1).pngJill Comess
Food Science & Nutrition Program Director
757-823-8216
jcomess@nsu.edu
Expertise: Diet, nutrition, supplements

 

Performing Arts

Sam-Dorsey-(1).pngSam Dorsey
Professor
757-823-8359
sbdorsey@nsu.edu
Expertise: Music history, Classical guitar


Anthony-Stockard-tn-(1).pngAnthony Stockard
Director of Theatre/Associate Professor
757-823-2897
amstockard@nsu.edu
Expertise: Theatre, stage production, direction, acting, stage design, actors guilds, etc.
 

Physics

Wendy-Hinton-(1).pngWendy Hinton
Chair – Physics Department
757-823-2275
whinton@nsu.edu
Expertise: High altitude ballooning, Amateur radio technician class license, etc.


Vina-Punjabi-tn-(1).pngVina Punjabi
Professor
757-823-2472
vapunjabi@nsu.edu
Expertise: Experimental nuclear and particle physics, Proton elastic form factory, Polarimeter and calorimeter particle detectors, etc.


Carlos-Salgado-tn-(1).pngCarlos Salgado
Professor
757-823-8909
carlos@nsu.edu
Expertise: Experimental nuclear and particle physics, meson spectroscopy, etc.
 

Political Science

Elsie-Barnes-(1).pngElsie Barnes
Professor
757-368-4146
embarnes@nsu.edu
Expertise: Local & state politics, political activism


Carol-Pretlow-tn-(1).pngCarol Pretlow
Associate Professor
757-823-8192
cpretlow@nsu.edu
Expertise: International law; electoral politics: emphasis on national elections; National Security Law
 

Popular Culture

Andrew-Arroyo-tn-(1).pngAndrew Arroyo
INT Faculty
757-823-2878
atarroyo@nsu.edu
Expertise: Social media activism, HBCUs, diversification of HBCUs, racial diversification


Wanda-Brockington-tn-(1).pngWanda Brockington
Associate Professor
757-823-8330
wgbrockington@nsu.edu
Expertise: African-Americans and indigenous people and the Internet, media effects, interviewing, language and culture
 

Psychology

Scott-Debb-tn-(1).pngScott Debb
Assistant Professor
757-823-8943
smdebb@nsu.edu
Expertise: Community mental health, social justice, conflict studies, cyber security


Ernestine-Duncan-(1).pngErnestine Duncan
Associate Prof/Dept. Chair
757-823-8310
eduncan@nsu.edu
Expertise: Mental health


Desideria-Hacker-tn-(1).pngDesideria Hacker
Assistant Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Research
757-823-2893
dshacker@nsu.edu
Expertise: HIV/AIDS, Pro-choice Project
 

Religion

Andrew-Arroyo-tn-(1).pngAndrew Arroyo
Associate Professor
757-823-2878
atarroyo@nsu.edu
Expertise: Philosophy of religion, community-based ministry, the American church
 

Social Justice

Elsie-Barnes-(1).pngElsie M. Barnes
Professor of Political Science
757-368-4146
embarnes@nsu.edu
Expertise: Civil rights issues, Civil Rights Movement


Cassandra-Newby-Alexander-tn-(1).pngCassandra Newby-Alexander
Professor
757-823-2268
clnewby-alexander@nsu.edu
Expertise: History, civil rights issues, Civil Rights Movement


Carol-Pretlow-tn-(1).pngCarol Pretlow
Associate Professor
757-823-8192
cpretlow@nsu.edu
Expertise: Civil rights issues, Civil Rights Movement

 

Technology

Carray-Banks-tn-(1).pngCarray Banks, Jr.
Assoc. Professor
757-823-8712
cbanks@nsu.edu
Expertise: Gates Millennium Scholarship; STEM opportunities; sports & the intercollegiate experience


Munir-Sulaiman-tn.pngMunir Sulaiman
Instructor
757-823-8089
msulaiman@nsu.edu
Expertise: Micro electronic devices

 

Terrorism

Carol-Pretlow-tn-(1).pngCarol Pretlow
Associate Professor
757-823-8192
cpretlow@nsu.edu
Expertise: International relations: terrorism, national security law

 

Women's Issues

Wanda-Brockington-tn-(1).pngWanda Brockington
Associate Professor, Mass Communications & Journalism
757-823-8330
wgbrockington@nsu.edu
Expertise: Women and minorities in the media, environmental racism


Colita-Fairfax-tn-(1).pngColita Fairfax
Associate Professor/Honors College
757-823-9593
cnfairfax@nsu.edu
Expertise: Social issues, marriage, community and community development, social history, social policy


Khadijah-Miller-tn-(1).pngKhadijah Miller
Associate Professor / Department Head
757-823-2864
komiller@nsu.edu
Expertise: Interdisciplinary studies, women's studies, etc.