Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Faculty & Staff

Carlene Buchanan Turner, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department Chair
Areas of Specialization: Sociology of Aging, Race, Quantitative Methodology, Immigration, GIS Mapping & Socio-Cybersecurity
Email: cmturner@nsu.edu

Austin W. Ashe, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Areas of Specialization: Race, Qualitative Methods, Policing, Law, Theory & Criminal Justice
Email: awashe@nsu.edu

Ms. LaShawn L. Belvin
Office Specialist, Sociology, CJS &UAF
Email: llbelvin@nsu.edu

Regina E. Brisgone, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Areas of Specialization: Criminal Justice, Criminology, Research Methods, Women/Drugs & Urban Crime
Email: rebrisgone@nsu.edu

James A. Curiel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Areas of Specialization: Research Methods, Popular Culture, Race and Ethnic Relations, Urban Affairs
Email: jacuriel@nsu.edu

Michael Fischer, Ph.D.
Professor
Areas of Specialization: Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency & Offender Rehabilitation
Email: mfischer@nsu.edu

Timothy Goler, Ph,.D.
Assistant Professor
Areas of Specialization: Medical Sociology, Sociology of the Aging & life Course, Urban Planning, Housing, Development & Urban Affairs
Email: tgoler@nsu.edu

Bernadette J. Holmes, Ph.D.
Professor
Areas of Specialization: Criminal Justice, Criminology, Gender, Community Development, Environmental Crime & Justice
Email: bjholmes@nsu.edu

Robert K. Perkins, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Graduate Programs Coordinator
Areas of Specialization: Urban Studies, Inequality, Social Organizations, Socio-Cybersecurity
Email: rkperkins@nsu.edu

Yuying Shen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Areas of Specialization: Quantitative Methods, Agingand Health, Community Studies, Global & Comparative Sociology & Socio-Cybersecurity
Email: yshen@nsu.edu

ADJUNCT FACULTY

Jasmine Albert, M.A.
Adjunct Professor
Email: jalbert@nsu.edu

Somto J. Azike, M.A.
Adjunct Professor
Email: sjazike@nsu.edu

S. Kandi Hall, M.A.
Adjunct Professor
Email: skhall@nsu.edu

Nathaniel Chisolm, M.A., MS
Adjunct Professor
Email: nchisholm@nsu.edu

Danielle Flipping, M.A.
Adjunct Professor
Email: dflipping@nsu.edu

Vanessa C. Jenkins, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
Email: vcjenkins@nsu.edu

Mechelle Smith, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
Email: mbsmith@nsu.edu

Michael Gleaves, M.A.
Adjunct Professor
Email: mgleaves@nsu.edu

Ricky Cabler, M.A.
Adjunct Professor
Email: jalbert@nsu.edu

Rhonda Moody, M.A.
Adjunct Professor
Email: rfmoody@nsu.edu

Mykel Walton, M.A.
Adjunct Professor
Email: mkwalton@nsu.edu