Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Faculty & Staff


Carlene Buchanan Turner, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department Chair
Areas of Specialization: Sociology of Aging, Race, Quantitative  Methodology, Immigration, GIS Mapping & Socio-Cybersecurity
Email: cmturner@nsu.edu

 Austin W. Ashe, Ph.D.
 Assistant Professor
 Areas of Specialization: Race, Qualitative Methods,   Policing, Law, Theory & Criminal Justice
 Email: awashe@nsu.edu
 


 Ms. LaShawn L. Belvin
 Office Specialist, Sociology, CJS & UAF
 Email: llbelvin@nsu.edu




 

 Regina E. Brisgone, Ph.D.
 Assistant Professor
 Areas of Specialization: Criminal Justice,   Criminology, Research Methods, Women/Drugs &   Urban Crime
 Email: rebrisgone@nsu.edu

 

 James A. Curiel, Ph.D.
 Associate Professor
 Areas of Specialization: Research Methods, Popular   Culture, Race and Ethnic Relations, Urban Affairs
 Email: jacruiel@nsu.edu

 

Ms. Cheryl Dozier
Graduate Programs Office Specialist, CJS & UAF
Email: cdozier@nsu.edu

 Michael Fischer, Ph.D.
 Professor
 Areas of Specialization: Criminal Justice, Juvenile   Delinquency & Offender Rehabilitation
 Email: mfischer@nsu.edu




 Timothy Goler, Ph,.D.
 Assistant Professor
 Areas of Specialization: Medical Sociology,   Sociology of the Aging & life Course, Urban   Planning, Housing, Development & Urban Affairs
 Email: tgoler@nsu.edu

 Bernadette J. Holmes, Ph.D.
 Professor
 Areas of Specialization: Criminal Justice,   Criminology, Gender, Community Development,   Environmental Crime & Justice
 Email: bjholmes@nsu.edu


 Robert K. Perkins, Ph.D.
 Associate Professor, Graduate Programs Coordinator
 Areas of Specialization: Urban Studies, Inequality,   Social Organizations, Socio-Cybersecurity
 Email: rkperkins@nsu.edu


 Yuying Shen, Ph.D.
 Associate Professor
 Areas of Specialization: Quantitative Methods,   Aging and Health, Community Studies, Global &   Comparative Sociology & Soci-Cybersecurity
 Email: yshen@nsu.edu



David L. Spinner, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Areas of Specialization: Criminal Justice, Criminology, Research Methods, Statistics, Theory, Race & Crime & Juvenile Justice
Email: dlspinner@nsu.edu