Skip to main content

Schools & Colleges

Schools and Colleges

The Academic Division
The academic division is made up of two colleges, three professional schools, an off-campus center, and academic support programs. The colleges are the College of Liberal Arts and the College of Science, Engineering, and Technology. The schools are the School of Business, the School of Education, and the Ethelyn R. Strong School of Social Work. Thirty-one undergraduate degree programs, fifteen master’s degree programs, and three doctoral degree programs are offered through these colleges and schools.

College of Liberal Arts

The College of Liberal Arts embraces ten academic departments in the fine and performing arts, humanities, and social sciences. The departments are English and Foreign Languages, Fine Arts, General Studies, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, Mass Communications and Journalism, Music, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.

College Science, Engineering and Technology

The College of Science, Engineering and Technology is a dynamic school. It has been, and remains, a major force for change within the University as an innovator and initiator of most of the high demand and high technological programs on campus. It is represented by a wide array of course selections in eight (8) major areas: Computer Science, Engineering, Health Sciences, Mathematics, Natural and Applied Sciences, Nursing, Naval Science, and Technology. 

Robert C. Nusbaum Honors College

The Honors College is designed to provide an enriched and challenging program of study for students who manifest exceptional academic potential, to improve the University's ability to attract such scholars, and to enrich the academic community. 

School of Business

The mission of the School of Business is to prepare students for careers in all types of organizations and for continued academic study. This is accomplished in a learner-centered community that promotes academic achievement, professional growth, and recognition of the importance of diversity, technology, globalization, and ethics in the workplace and society. 

School of Education

The School of Education is responsible for providing leadership, coordination, and evaluation of all teacher education programs at the University. Its central purpose is to provide pre-service and in-service educational programs to prospective teachers, in-service teachers, administrators, and others engaged in educational activities in schools and other agencies. 

Ethelyn R. Strong School of Social Work

The Ethelyn R. Strong School of Social Work provides social work education through its Baccalaureate Social Work (B.S.W.) Program, Master of Social Work (M.S.W.) Program, Doctoral (Ph.D.) Program, and continuing education programs. The School's mission is to provide social work education programs which prepare students with competence to develop and deliver services that strengthen and/or empower individuals, families, groups, organizations, and communities. 

School of Graduate Studies and Research

The Graduate School administers the University's nineteen (19) graduate programs in the School of Education, College of Liberal Arts, School of Social Work, and College of Science, Engineering and Technology. The Graduate School is responsible to the Provost for the development and maintenance of high quality graduate programs. The research enterprise is paramount at Norfolk State University. With a focus on finding practical solutions to complex problems, research permeates the curriculum and emphasizes minority student participation at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. 

Office of Extended Learning

The Office of Extended Learning works with all academic and administrative units leveraging existing expertise and resources of the University to offer coursework through distance education, continuing education and certificate programs.