Skip to main content


The Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) reflects and affirms the commitment of Norfolk State University to enhance the quality of higher education in the region and focus attention on student learning.  The QEP describes the carefully designed course of action that addresses a well-defined and focused topic, an issue related to enhancing student learning, and/or the environment supporting student learning; and accomplishing the mission of the NSU. 

Developing the QEP presented the University an opportunity to enhance overall institutional quality and effectiveness by focusing on improving student learning, specifically student reading and writing achievement.  The QEP looks to the future and is embedded within the ongoing integrated university-wide planning, assessment and evaluation process. 

NSU Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) Committee 2018 – 2019

  • Dr. Charles Ford, QEP Director, History
  • Dr. Désiré Baloubi, English
  • Ms. Alexandra Boone, Student
  • Dr. Arthur W. Bowman, Biology
  • Dr. Andrew T. Carrington, Accreditation
  • Dr. Beatrice Darden-Woody, Exercise Science
  • Dr. V. Reddy Dondeti, Accounting
  • Dr. Lydia Figueroa, Nursing
  • Dr. Mildred K. Fuller, Nursing & Allied Health
  • Dr. Leroy Hamilton, Provost
  • Ms. Lynne Harrison, Dean of Libraries
  • Dr. Jocelyn Heath, English
  • Dr. Ebenezer Kolajo, Director, Assessment
  • Dr. Nicole Kyser, Community Counseling
  • Dr. Tiffany Lane, Social Work
  • Dr. Denise S. Langley, Director, Academic Advising
  • Dr. Page Laws, Dean, Honors College
  • Ms. Michelle Marable, Dean of Students
  • Dr. Aylin Marz, Biology
  • Dr. Felicia Mebane, Executive Director, Dr. Patricia Lynch Stith Student Success Center
  • Dr. Khadijah O. Miller, Professor and Chair, Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Dr. Andrea P. Neal, Associate Vice Provost
  • Mr. Oyeyiola O. Oladayo, Assistant Director, Assessment
  • Dr. Robert K. Perkins, Associate Professor and Chair, Sociology   
  • Dr. Marty Sharpe, Associate Vice Provost
  • Dr. Viola Vaughan-Eden, Social Work
  • Ms. Courtney M. Waters, Student
  • Dr. Enrique G. Zapatero, Vice Provost

NSU Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) Subcommittees

  • Executive Summary, Overview of Norfolk State University
    - Dr. Charles H. Ford and Dr. Andrew T. Carrington
  • Selection and Development of Topic, QEP Goals and Student Outcomes, and Literature Reviews
    Dr. Page R. Laws, Dr. Ebenezer F. Kolajo, Mr. Oladayo Oyeyiola, Dr. Andrew T. Carrington, Dr. Lydia Figueroa, Dr. Leon Rouson and Ms. Lynne Harrison
  • Implementing NSU's QEP
    Dr. Khadijah O. Miller, Dr. Andrew T. Carrington, Dr. Viola Vaughn-Eden and Dr. Jocelyn Heath
  • Assessment of the QEP
    Dr. Ebenezer F. Kolajo, Dr. Oladayo Oyeyiola, Dr. Andrew T. Carrington, Dr. Jason Demeter and Dr. Charles H. Ford
  • Institutional Capability and Budget
    Dr. Reddy Dondeti, Dr. Enrique Zapatero and Dr. Andrew Carrington
  • Community Involvement, QEP Director Position Description and Appendices
    Dr. Charles H. Ford, Dr. Robert K. Perkins and Dr. Andrew T. Carrington
  • Conveners