Skip to main content

Contact Us

Department of Sociology
Suite 203, GWC Brown Memorial Hall
Norfolk State University
700 Park Avenue
Norfolk, VA 23504
(757) 823-8436
(757) 823-8167

Dr. Robert K. Perkins, Chair
Department of Sociology
Phone: (757) 823-8436
Fax: (757) 823-8167

LaShawn Belvin, Administrative Specialist
Department of Sociology
Phone: (757) 823-8436
Fax: (757) 823-8167

It’s important to us to hear from you and how you are doing. Please take time to fill out the Sociology Alumni Contact Form.

Faculty

William K A. Agyei, Ph.D.
Professor
(University of Maryland) Demography, Family Statistics, Research Methods
Email: wkagyei@nsu.edu

Austin W. Ashe, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
(Duke University) Race, Qualitative Methods, Policing, Law, and Theory
Email:  awashe@nsu.edu

Regina E. Brisgone, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
(Rutgers University) Criminal Justice, Criminology, Research Methods, Women & Drugs, and Urban Crime
Email:  rebrisgone@nsu.edu

James Curiel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
(University of California, Davis) Research Methods, Popular Culture, Race and Ethnic Relations
Email: jacuriel@nsu.edu

Michael Fischer, Ph.D.
Professor
(State University of New York at Albany) Juvenile Delinquency, Offender Rehabilitation
Email: mfischer@nsu.edu

Bernadette J. Holmes, Ph.D.
Professor 
(Ohio State University) Criminology, Gender, Community Development
Email: bjholmes@nsu.edu
 

Robert K. Perkins, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Department Head
(Iowa State University) Urban Studies, Inequality, Social Organizations
Email: rkperkins@nsu.edu
 

Yuying Shen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
(University of North Texas) Quantitative Methods, Aging and Health, Community Studies, Global & Comparative Sociology
Email:  yshen@nsu.edu

David L. Spinner, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Director of MA Criminal Justice Program
(University of Maryland College Park) Criminal Justice & Criminology - Research Methods, Statistics, Theory, Race and Crime and Juvenile Justice
Email:  dlspinner@nsu.edu
 

Carlene Buchanan Turner, PhD.
Associate Professor
(City University of New York), Sociology of Aging; Race; Quantitative Methodology; Immigration; Socio-Cybersecurity; GIS Mapping
E-mail: cmturner@nsu.edu

Staff

LaShawn L. Belvin - Administrative Specialist
Email:  llbelvin@nsu.edu

Cheryl Dozier - CJS Administrative Specialist
Email: cdozier@nsu.edu