Faculty & Staff

Music Division Faculty

Dr. Susan C. HaDr. Susan C. Ha, Chair
Department of Visual and Performing Arts
Associate Professor/Piano  
D.M.A., University of Cincinnati
College-Conservatory of Music
M.M., University of Cincinnati
College-Conservatory of Music
B.M., James Madison University
scha@nsu.edu
                                 Office: FAB 531
                                 Phone: (757) 823-8544

Dr. Harlan Zackery, Coordinator
Music Division
Assistant Professor of Music
Director of Choral Activities
hzackery@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 327
Phone: 757-823-8565

William Beathea, Assistant Professor
Director of Bands; Percussion
M.A., Eastern Illinois University
B.A., Ball State University
whbeathea@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 431
Phone: (757) 328-6184

Terry Butler, Instructor
Assistant Director of Choral Activities
M.M., Norfolk State University
B.S., Norfolk State University
Additional Studies at Westminster Choir College, Ryder University
twbutler@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 315
Phone: (757) 823-9521

Dr. Sam Dorsey, Professor of Music
Guitar and Music History
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
M.M., Virginia Commonwealth University
B.M., University of North Carolina Greensboro
sbdorsey@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 501 

Gregory GardnerGregory Gardner, Instructor
Voice 
M.M., Howard University
B.M., Howard University
Certificate, Académie Internationale de Musique Maurice Ravel
gwgardner@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 529
Phone: (757) 823-8581

Frank T. Elliott Frank T. Elliott, Instructor
Director of NSU Vocal Jazz Ensemble; Secondary Piano Coordinator  
Certificate in Advanced Graduate Study, Boston University
M.M., Norfolk State University
B.S., Norfolk State University
ftelliott@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 525
                                 Phone: (757) 823-8197

Dr. Bianca Jackson, Assistant ProfessorBianca-Jackson
Voice, Diction, and Vocal Pedagogy 
D.M.A., The University of Texas at Austin
M.M., The University of Louisiana at Monroe  B.A.,Tougaloo College
bkjackson@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 401
Phone: (757) 823-8575

Dr. Sarah Kim, Assistant Professor
Voice and Music Literature 
D.M.A., University of Nevada at Las Vegas

Dr. Anne Neikirk, Assistant Professor
Composition and Music Theory
D.M.A., Temple University
M.M., Bowling Green State University
B.A., Hamilton College
alneikirk@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 415
Phone: (757) 823-9112

Alan Reese, Instructor
High Brass, Theory, and Humanities  
M.M., Norfolk State University
M.Ch.M., Concordia University Wisconsin
B.A., Indiana University of Pennsylvania
adreese@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 613
Phone: (757) 823-9036

Dr. Matthew N. Russell, Associate Professor
Music Education 
D.M.A, Ohio State University
M.M., Pennsylvania State University
B.S., Pennsylvania State University
mnrussell@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 515
Phone: (757) 823-9199

Stephanie K. SandersStephanie K. Sanders, Assistant Professor
Director of Jazz Ensemble, Assistant Director of Bands
M.M., University of Houston
B.M.E, Jackson State University
Additional Studies: Regent and Shenandoah Conservatory
sksanders@nsu.edu
                                 Office: FAB 535
                                 Phone: (757) 823-8360

DeVaughn Q. Scott-SmithDeVaughn Q. Scott-Smith, Assistant Professor
Woodwinds, Music Education
M.M., Norfolk State University
B.S., Norfolk State University
dqscott-smith@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 527
Phone: (757) 823-9180

Gerald E. Thompson Gerald E. Thompson, Instructor
Music Technology Coordinator
M.M., Norfolk State University
B.A., Norfolk State University
Pro Tools Certified Operator Pro Media ACI
gethompson@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 609
Phone: (757) 823-9267

Adjunct Instructors

Rogers Brown, Adjunct Instructor
Music Technology
M.M., University of Michigan
B.M.E., Louisiana Tech
rbrown@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 225
Phone: (757) 823-9267

Peter DuBeau, Adjunct Instructor
Low Brass 
M.M., University of Michigan
B.M., Northwestern University
pcdubeau@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 605


Lesley Friend, Adjunct Instructor
Music Appreciation
D.M.A. Candidate, Indiana University
lafriend@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 111
Phone: (757) 823-8544

Margie Haynes, Adjunct Instructor
Secondary Piano and African American Music
M.M., Norfolk State University

Dr. William Holcomb, Adjunct Instructor
Music Appreciation
D.M.A. Shenandoah University

Kelsey Jamerson, Adjunct Instructor
Secondary Piano
M.M., Norfolk State University
B.M., Mary Baldwin College

Michael Laubach, Adjunct Instructor
Percussion
Carnegie Mellon University

Ricky Micou, Adjunct Instructor
Percussion
M.M. Southern Illinois University
B.M.E. Mississippi Valley State University

Anastasia Migliozzi, Adjunct Professor
Strings
M.M., Rice University
B.M., The Juilliard School

Daniel Simmons, Adjunct Instructor
Theory and Secondary Piano
M.M., Norfolk State University
B.M., Norfolk State University 

Administrative Assistant 

Lesley Friend, Administrative Assistant and Adjunct Instructor
D.M.A. Candidate, Indiana University
lafriend@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 111
Phone: (757) 823-8544