Skip to main content

Contact Us

The purpose of Norfolk State University's financial aid program is to provide assistance to qualified students who, without such aid, would be unable to attend the university. Aid is awarded on the basis of Need as determined by the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).  Norfolk State FAFSA ID code is 003765.

Hours

Monday–Friday: 8 a.m.–5 p.m.
Every first Thursday: 8 a.m.–6 p.m.

Contact Information

Office of Financial Aid
Norfolk State University
700 Park Avenue
Norfolk, VA 23504

Email:  financialaid@nsu.edu

Location on campus:

Student Services Center, Suite 211

Financial Aid Telephone - (757) 823-8381
Financial Aid Toll Free - 1-800-365-5517
Financial Aid Fax - (757) 823-9059
University Operator - (757) 823-8600

Financial Aid Administration

Melissa Barnes
Director of Financial Aid
mjbarnes@nsu.edu

Cassondra Gwathney
Acting Associate Director, Technical Systems & Processing
cegwathney@nsu.edu

Tarik Boyd
Assistant Director of Financial Aid, Day to Day Operations
mjbarnes@nsu.edu

Financial Aid Counselor/Document Processing

Shakehma Bonney
Financial Aid Counselor (A - B)
sbonney@nsu.edu

Kesha Wilson
Financial Aid Counselor (C - F)
knwilson@nsu.edu

Malik Gladden
Financial Aid Counselor (G - J)
magladden@nsu.edu

Karen Jones
Financial Aid Counselor (K - O)
kjones@nsu.edu

Patricia Morgan
Financial Aid Counselor (P - S)
pmorgan@nsu.edu

Connie Sivels
Financial Aid Counselor (T - Z)
cmsivels@nsu.edu

Customer Service

Ronald Cruz
Financial Aid Specialist
rjcruz@nsu.edu

Juanita Riddick
Administrative Specialist III
jgriddick@nsu.edu

Grants & Scholarships

Tara Alexander
Scholarship and Grants Manager
tmalexander@nsu.edu

Sherrie Mitchell
Scholarship Assistant
snmitchell@nsu.edu

Student Employment

Shakehma Bonney
Student Employment Coordinator
sbonney@nsu.edu

Student Loans

Patrice Johnson
Student Loan Coordinator
pljohnson@nsu.edu

Raymond Johnson
Alternative/PLUS Loan Officer
rajohnson@nsu.edu