Skip to main content

Board of Visitors


Norfolk State University was established by §§ 23-174.1 through 23-174.7 of the Code of Virginia (Ann. 1950) as a corporation under the name of the Board of Visitors of Norfolk State University. The University is under the control of the Virginia General Assembly at all times.

The Board of Visitors consists of 13 members appointed by the Governor for terms of four years subject to confirmation by the Virginia General Assembly. Of the persons appointed, four are alumni of the University--three of whom may be nonresidents of the Commonwealth. Board members are eligible for reappointment for an additional term.  

The Board is governed by a set of By Laws, which articulates the Board's role and responsibilities.

Mission of the University

Through exemplary teaching, scholarship, and outreach, Norfolk State University transforms lives and communities by empowering individuals to maximize their potential, creating life-long learners equipped to be engaged leaders and productive global citizens.

Vision Statement

Norfolk State University will be recognized nationally as a premier public institution with outstanding signature academic programs, innovative research, and community engagement opportunities.