Skip to main content

Contact Us

The purpose of Norfolk State University's financial aid program is to provide assistance to qualified students who, without such aid, would be unable to attend the university. Aid is awarded on the basis of Need as determined by the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).  Norfolk State FAFSA ID code is 003765.

Hours

Monday–Friday: 8 a.m.–5 p.m.
Every first Thursday: 8 a.m.–6 p.m.

Contact Information

Office of Financial Aid
Norfolk State University
700 Park Avenue
Norfolk, VA 23504

Email:  financialaid@nsu.edu

Location on campus:

Student Services Center, Suite 211

Financial Aid Telephone - (757) 823-8381
Financial Aid Toll Free - 1-800-365-5517
Financial Aid Fax - (757) 823-9059
University Operator - (757) 823-8600

Financial Aid Administration

Dr. Melissa Barnes, Ed.D.
Director of Financial Aid
mjbarnes@nsu.edu

Cassondra Gwathney
Associate Director, Operations
cegwathney@nsu.edu

Tarik Boyd
Associate Director, Compliance
tjboyd@nsu.edu

Tara Alexander
Assistant Director, Grants and Scholarships
tmalexander@nsu.edu

Financial Aid Counselor / Document Processing

Karen Jones
Financial Aid Processor (A - M)
kjones@nsu.edu

Patricia Morgan
Financial Aid Processor (N - Z)
pmorgan@nsu.edu

 

Customer Service

Malik Gladden
Financial Aid Advisor
magladden@nsu.edu

Juanita Riddick
Administrative Specialist III
jgriddick@nsu.edu

Kesha Wilson
Financial Aid Advisor
knwilson@nsu.edu

 

Grants & Scholarships

Tara Alexander
Assistant Director, Grants and Scholarships
tmalexander@nsu.edu

Ronald Cruz
Financial Aid Specialist
rjcruz@nsu.edu

Sherrie Mitchell
Scholarship Assistant
snmitchell@nsu.edu

 

Student Employment

Shakehma Bonney
Student Employment Coordinator
sbonney@nsu.edu

Student Loans

Patrice Johnson
Student Loan Program Coordinator
pljohnson@nsu.edu

Keshia Woodous
PLUS/Private Loan
kdwoodous@nsu.edu

System  administrator

Brandon Gilchrist
System Administrator
bjgilchrist@nsu.edu