Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Faculty & Staff



 Carlene Buchanan Turner, PhD.
 Associate Professor, Department Chair
 Areas of Specialization:
 Sociology of Aging; Race; Quantitative Methodology;   Immigration; Socio-Cybersecurity; GIS Mapping
 E-mail: cmturner@nsu.edu

 


person-placehloder.jpg Austin W. Ashe, Ph.D.
 Assistant Professor
 Areas of Specialization:
 Race, Qualitative Methods, Policing, Law, and Theory
 Email:  awashe@nsu.edu

 


person-placehloder.jpg Ms. LaShawn L. Belvin
Administrative Specialist
Phone (757) 823-8717
Fax (757) 823-8167
Email:  llbelvin@nsu.edu

 


person-placehloder.jpg Regina E. Brisgone, Ph.D.
 Assistant Professor
 Areas of Specialization:
 Criminal Justice, Criminology, Research Methods,   Women & Drugs, and Urban Crime
 Email:  rebrisgone@nsu.edu

 


 James Curiel, Ph.D.
 Associate Professor
 Areas of Specialization: 
 Research Methods, Popular Culture, Race and Ethnic   Relations, Urban Affairs
 Email: jacuriel@nsu.edu

 


person-placehloder.jpgMs. Cheryl Dozier
Graduate Programs Administrative Specialist
(757) 368-6369
(757) 368-6353
Email: cdozier@nsu.edu

 


 Michael Fischer, Ph.D.
 Professor
 Areas of Specialization: 
 Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Offender   Rehabilitation
 Email: mfischer@nsu.edu

 


person-placehloder.jpg Bernadette J. Holmes, Ph.D.
 Professor 
 Areas of Specialization: 
 Criminal Justice, Criminology, Gender, Community   Development, Enviromental Crime & Justice
 Email: bjholmes@nsu.edu

 



 Robert K. Perkins, Ph.D.
 Associate Professor, CJS & UAF Program Coordinator
 Areas of Specialization: 
 Urban Studies, Inequality, Social Organizations
 Email: rkperkins@nsu.edu

 



 Yuying Shen, Ph.D.
 Associate Professor
 Areas of Specialization:
 Quantitative Methods, Aging and Health, Community   Studies, Global & Comparative Sociology
 Email:  yshen@nsu.edu

 


person-placehloder.jpg David L. Spinner, Ph.D.
 Associate Professor 
 Areas of Specialization:
 Criminal Justice & Criminology - Research Methods,   Statistics, Theory, Race and Crime and Juvenile Justice
 Email:  dlspinner@nsu.edu