Skip to main content

Faculty Experts

Become a Faculty Expert

Please fill out the Faculty Expert Online form to request to be added as a Norfolk State University Expert.  Once you submit the form, you will receieve a follow-up email requesting a photo as well as confirmation of your request.

Expert Listing Changes or Removal Requests

Please fill out the Faculty Expert Online Update form to request changes to your information or to have your listing removed.  Once you submit the form, you will receive a follow-up email to your request asking for confirmation.


Astronomy

Carlos-Salgado-tn-(1).pngCarlos Salgado
Professor
757-823-8909
carlos@nsu.edu
Expertise: Particle astrophysics, Rapid Response Robotic Telescope (RRRT), Gamma-ray burst, Blazars, Supernova, Near Earth Objects (NEO)


Biology

Duncan-Howard-tn-(1).pngHoward Duncan
Professor
757-823-8940
hbduncan@nsu.edu
Expertise: Pre-med, clinical parasitology, health careers, cancer & disparities


Business

J-Stanley-Brown-tn-(1).pngJosephine Stanley-Brown
Instructor
757-823-2535
jsbrown@nsu.edu
Expertise: Business in higher education


Cultural Studies

Page-Laws-tn-(1).pngPage Laws
Dean - Honors College
757-823-8208
prlaws@nsu.edu
Expertise: African Diaspora, Comparative literature, Film, Drama, French, German studies

Khadijah-Miller-tn-(1).pngKhadijah O. Miller
Professor/ Department Head
757-823-2864
komiller@nsu.edu
Expertise: African American Studies, Women’s Studies, Black Women’s History/Studies, Interdisciplinary curriculum development

Eddie-Modlin-(1).pngE Arnold Modlin, Jr.
Assistant Professor of Geography
757-823-9457
eamodlin@nsu.edu
Expertise: Cultural and Social Geography, Plantation Museums, Critical Analysis of Tourism, Qualitative Research Methods

Cassandra-Newby-Alexander-tn-(1).pngCassandra Newby-Alexander
Professor
757-823-2268
clnewby-alexander@nsu.edu
Expertise: Black history, slavery, civil war, race, Portsmouth's black history, history of public schools in Hampton Roads

Stephanie-Richmond-tn-(1).pngStephanie Richmond
Assistant Professor
757-823-9073
sjrichmond@nsu.edu
Expertise: Women's history, abolition of slavery (Britain and US), women's rights, pre-Civil War American history, digital humanities


International Studies

Geoffroy-de-Laforcade-tn-(1).png
Geoffroy de Laforcade
Associate Professor
757-823-2080
gdelaforcade@nsu.edu
Expertise: Latin America, Cuba, South Africa


Nutrition

Jill-Comess-(1).pngJill Comess
Food Science & Nutrition Program Director
757-823-8216
jcomess@nsu.edu
Expertise: Diet, nutrition, supplements


Performing Arts

Sam-Dorsey-(1).pngSam Dorsey
Professor
757-823-8359
sbdorsey@nsu.edu
Expertise: Music history, Classical guitar

Anthony-Stockard-tn-(1).pngAnthony Stockard
Director of Theatre/Associate Professor
757-823-2897
amstockard@nsu.edu
Expertise: Theatre, stage production, direction, acting, stage design, actors guilds, etc.


Physics

Wendy-Hinton-(1).pngWendy Hinton
Chair – Physics Department
757-823-2275
whinton@nsu.edu
Expertise: High altitude ballooning, Amateur radio technician class license, etc.

Vina-Punjabi-tn-(1).pngVina Punjabi
Professor
757-823-2472
vapunjabi@nsu.edu
Expertise: Experimental nuclear and particle physics, Proton elastic form factory, Polarimeter and calorimeter particle detectors, etc.

Carlos-Salgado-tn-(1).pngCarlos Salgado
Professor
757-823-8909
carlos@nsu.edu
Expertise: Experimental nuclear and particle physics, meson spectroscopy, etc.


Political Science
 

Elsie-Barnes-(1).png
Elsie Barnes
Professor
757-368-4146
embarnes@nsu.edu
Expertise: Local & state politics, political activism


Carol-Pretlow-tn-(1).png
Carol Pretlow
Associate Professor
757-823-8192
cpretlow@nsu.edu
Expertise: International law; electoral politics: emphasis on national elections; National Security Law


Psychology

Scott-Debb-tn-(1).png
Scott Debb
Assistant Professor
757-823-8943
smdebb@nsu.edu
Expertise: Community mental health, social justice, conflict studies, cyber security

Ernestine-Duncan-(1).png
Ernestine Duncan
Associate Prof/Dept. Chair
757-823-8310
eduncan@nsu.edu
Expertise: Mental health, Women's issues


Andrew S. Franklin

Assistant Professor
757-823-2241
asfranklin@nsu.edu
Expertise: Assessment, Diagnosis, and Treatment of Psychological Disorders

Desideria-Hacker-tn-(1).pngDesideria Hacker
Assistant Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Research
757-823-2893
dshacker@nsu.edu
Expertise: HIV/AIDS, Pro-choice Project


Social Justice

Elsie-Barnes-(1).pngElsie M. Barnes
Professor of Political Science
757-368-4146
embarnes@nsu.edu
Expertise: Civil rights issues, Civil Rights Movement


Cassandra-Newby-Alexander-tn-(1).png
Cassandra Newby-Alexander
Professor
757-823-2268
clnewby-alexander@nsu.edu
Expertise: History, civil rights issues, Civil Rights Movement


Carol-Pretlow-tn-(1).png
Carol Pretlow
Associate Professor
757-823-8192
cpretlow@nsu.edu
Expertise: Civil rights issues, Civil Rights Movement


Technology

Carray-Banks-tn-(1).pngCarray Banks, Jr.
Assoc. Professor
757-823-8712
cbanks@nsu.edu
Expertise: Gates Millennium Scholarship; STEM opportunities; sports & the intercollegiate experience

Munir-Sulaiman-tn.pngMunir Sulaiman
Instructor
757-823-8089
msulaiman@nsu.edu
Expertise: Micro electronic devices


Tourism

 

Eddie-Modlin-(1).pngE Arnold Modlin, Jr.
Assistant Professor of Geography
757-823-9457
eamodlin@nsu.edu
Expertise: Socially-Responsible Tourism, Museums and Museum Studies, Tourism, Race and Ethnicity in the U.S. South and the Caribbean, Social Memory and Tourism


Terrorism

Carol-Pretlow-tn-(1).png
Carol Pretlow
Associate Professor
757-823-8192
cpretlow@nsu.edu
Expertise: International relations: terrorism, national security law


Women's Issues

 

Colita-Fairfax-tn-(1).pngColita Fairfax
Associate Professor/Honors College
757-823-9593
cnfairfax@nsu.edu
Expertise: Social issues, marriage, community and community development, social history, social policy

Khadijah-Miller-tn-(1).png
Khadijah Miller
Professor / Department Head
757-823-2864
komiller@nsu.edu
Expertise: Interdisciplinary studies, African American Studies, Women’s Studies, Black Women’s History/Studies, Interdisciplinary curriculum development