Skip to main content

Expert Resource Guide

Astronomy

Carlos-Salgado-tn-(1).png
Carlos Salgado
Professor
757-823-8909
carlos@nsu.edu
Expertise: Particle astrophysics, Rapid Response Robotic Telescope (RRRT), Gamma-ray burst, Blazars, Supernova, Near Earth Objects (NEO)

Biology

Duncan-Howard-tn-(1).png
Howard Duncan
Professor
757-823-8940
hbduncan@nsu.edu
Expertise: Pre-med, clinical parasitology, health careers, cancer & disparities

Business

J-Stanley-Brown-tn-(1).png
Josephine Stanley-Brown
Instructor
757-823-2535
jsbrown@nsu.edu
Expertise: Business in higher education

Cultural Studies

Page-Laws-tn-(1).png
Page Laws
Dean - Honors College
757-823-8208
prlaws@nsu.edu
Expertise: African Diaspora, Comparative literature, Film, Drama, French, German studies

Khadijah-Miller-tn-(1).png
Khadijah O. Miller
Professor/ Department Head
757-823-2864
komiller@nsu.edu
Expertise: African American Studies, Women’s Studies, Black Women’s History/Studies, Interdisciplinary curriculum development

Eddie-Modlin-(1).png
E Arnold Modlin, Jr.
Assistant Professor of Geography
757-823-9457
eamodlin@nsu.edu
Expertise: Cultural and Social Geography, Plantation Museums, Critical Analysis of Tourism, Qualitative Research Methods

Cassandra-Newby-Alexander-tn-(1).png
Cassandra Newby-Alexander
Professor
757-823-2268
clnewby-alexander@nsu.edu
Expertise: Black history, slavery, civil war, race, Portsmouth's black history, history of public schools in Hampton Roads

Stephanie-Richmond-tn-(1).png
Stephanie Richmond
Asstant Professor
757-823-9073
sjrichmond@nsu.edu
Expertise: Women's history, abolition of slavery (Britain and US), women's rights, pre-Civil War American history, digital humanities

International Studies

Geoffroy-de-Laforcade-tn-(1).png
Geoffroy de Laforcade
Associate Professor
757-823-2080
gdelaforcade@nsu.edu
Expertise: Latin America, Cuba, South Africa

Nutrition

Jill-Comess-(1).png
Jill Comess
Food Science & Nutrition Program Director
757-823-8216
jcomess@nsu.edu
Expertise: Diet, nutrition, supplements

Performing Arts

Sam-Dorsey-(1).png
Sam Dorsey
Professor
757-823-8359
sbdorsey@nsu.edu
Expertise: Music history, Classical guitar


Anthony-Stockard-tn-(1).png
Anthony Stockard
Director of Theatre/Associate Professor
757-823-2897
amstockard@nsu.edu
Expertise: Theatre, stage production, direction, acting, stage design, actors guilds, etc.

Physics

Wendy-Hinton-(1).png
Wendy Hinton
Chair – Physics Department
757-823-2275
whinton@nsu.edu
Expertise: High altitude ballooning, Amateur radio technician class license, etc.

Vina-Punjabi-tn-(1).png
Vina Punjabi
Professor
757-823-2472
vapunjabi@nsu.edu
Expertise: Experimental nuclear and particle physics, Proton elastic form factory, Polarimeter and calorimeter particle detectors, etc.

Carlos-Salgado-tn-(1).png
Carlos Salgado
Professor
757-823-8909
carlos@nsu.edu
Expertise: Experimental nuclear and particle physics, meson spectroscopy, etc.

Political Science

Elsie-Barnes-(1).png
Elsie Barnes
Professor
757-368-4146
embarnes@nsu.edu
Expertise: Local & state politics, political activism


Carol-Pretlow-tn-(1).png
Carol Pretlow
Associate Professor
757-823-8192
cpretlow@nsu.edu
Expertise: International law; electoral politics: emphasis on national elections; National Security Law

Popular Culture

Andrew-Arroyo-tn-(1).png
Andrew Arroyo
INT Faculty
757-823-2878
atarroyo@nsu.edu
Expertise: Social media activism, HBCUs, diversification of HBCUs, racial diversification

Wanda-Brockington-tn-(1).png
Wanda Brockington
Associate Professor
757-823-8330
wgbrockington@nsu.edu
Expertise: African-Americans and indigenous people and the Internet, media effects, interviewing, language and culture

Psychology

Scott-Debb-tn-(1).png
Scott Debb
Assistant Professor
757-823-8943
smdebb@nsu.edu
Expertise: Community mental health, social justice, conflict studies, cyber security

Ernestine-Duncan-(1).png
Ernestine Duncan
Associate Prof/Dept. Chair
757-823-8310
eduncan@nsu.edu
Expertise: Mental health, Women's issues


Andrew S. Franklin

Assistant Professor
757-823-2241
asfranklin@nsu.edu
Expertise: Assessment, Diagnosis, and Treatment of Psychological Disorders

Desideria-Hacker-tn-(1).png
Desideria Hacker
Assistant Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Research
757-823-2893
dshacker@nsu.edu
Expertise: HIV/AIDS, Pro-choice Project

Religion

Andrew-Arroyo-tn-(1).png
Andrew Arroyo
Associate Professor
757-823-2878
atarroyo@nsu.edu
Expertise: Philosophy of religion, community-based ministry, the American church

Social Justice

Elsie-Barnes-(1).png
Elsie M. Barnes
Professor of Political Science
757-368-4146
embarnes@nsu.edu
Expertise: Civil rights issues, Civil Rights Movement


Cassandra-Newby-Alexander-tn-(1).png
Cassandra Newby-Alexander
Professor
757-823-2268
clnewby-alexander@nsu.edu
Expertise: History, civil rights issues, Civil Rights Movement


Carol-Pretlow-tn-(1).png
Carol Pretlow
Associate Professor
757-823-8192
cpretlow@nsu.edu
Expertise: Civil rights issues, Civil Rights Movement

Technology

Carray-Banks-tn-(1).png
Carray Banks, Jr.
Assoc. Professor
757-823-8712
cbanks@nsu.edu
Expertise: Gates Millennium Scholarship; STEM opportunities; sports & the intercollegiate experience

Munir-Sulaiman-tn.png
Munir Sulaiman
Instructor
757-823-8089
msulaiman@nsu.edu
Expertise: Micro electronic devices

Tourism

 

Eddie-Modlin-(1).png
E Arnold Modlin, Jr.
Assistant Professor of Geography
757-823-9457
eamodlin@nsu.edu
Expertise: Socially-Responsible Tourism, Museums and Museum Studies, Tourism, Race and Ethnicity in the U.S. South and the Caribbean, Social Memory and Tourism

Terrorism

Carol-Pretlow-tn-(1).png
Carol Pretlow
Associate Professor
757-823-8192
cpretlow@nsu.edu
Expertise: International relations: terrorism, national security law

Women's Issues

Wanda-Brockington-tn-(1).png
Wanda Brockington
Associate Professor, Mass Communications & Journalism
757-823-8330
wgbrockington@nsu.edu
Expertise: Women and minorities in the media, environmental racism

Colita-Fairfax-tn-(1).png
Colita Fairfax
Associate Professor/Honors College
757-823-9593
cnfairfax@nsu.edu
Expertise: Social issues, marriage, community and community development, social history, social policy

Khadijah-Miller-tn-(1).png
Khadijah Miller
Professor / Department Head
757-823-2864
komiller@nsu.edu
Expertise: Interdisciplinary studies, African American Studies, Women’s Studies, Black Women’s History/Studies, Interdisciplinary curriculum development