Skip to main content


The Department of Physics provides the instruction necessary for the understanding of physics and earth science for students in this department and for other departments of the University. The Department also provides the research basis for students wishing to contribute to knowledge in the areas mentioned.


The Department has three majors which lead to the B.S. degree. Its graduates may enter occupations in industry, government, and education. Many graduates continue their education in graduate or professional schools.

The Department also offers graduate study courses leading to the Master of Science in Materials Science.