Skip to main content

Faculty & Staff

Dr. Sam Dorsey, Professor of Music
Music – Graduate Coordinator, Guitar, Music History   Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
M.M., Virginia Commonwealth University
B.M., University of North Carolina Greensboro
sbdorsey@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 501 

Gregory GardnerGregory Gardner, Instructor
Voice, Music Appreciation  
M.M., Howard University
B.M., Howard University
Certificate, Académie Internationale de Musique Maurice Ravel
gwgardner@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 529
Phone: (757) 823-8581

Terry Butler, Instructor
Choir, Piano
M.M., Norfolk State University
B.S., Norfolk State University
Additional Studies at Westminster Choir College, Ryder University
twbutler@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 315
Phone: (757) 823-9521

William Beathea, Assistant Professor
Director of Bands, Applied Percussion
M.A., Eastern Illinois University
B.A., Ball State University
whbeathea@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 431
Phone: (757) 328-6184

Dr. Anne Neikirk, Assistant Professor
Composition, Music Theory
DMA, Temple University
MM, Bowling Green State University
BA, Hamilton
alneikirk@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 415
Phone: (757) 823-9112

Dr. Patricia Saunders-NixonDr. Patricia Saunders-Nixon, Associate Professor
Voice
D.M.A., Shenandoah University
M.M., Norfolk State University
B.A., Norfolk State University
psnixon@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 301
Phone: (757) 823-8577

Frank T. Elliott Frank T. Elliott, Instructor
Director, NSU Vocal Jazz Ensemble; Secondary Piano Coordinator  
M.M., Norfolk State University
B.S., Norfolk State University
(In progress) D.M.A., Boston University
ftelliott@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 525
Phone: (757) 823-8197

Dr. Susan C. Ha, Assistant Professor
Piano  
D.M.A, University of Cincinnati College – Conservatory of Music
M.M., University of Cincinnati College – Conservatory of Music
B.M., James Madison University
scha@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 531
Phone: (757) 823-8582

Dr. Matthew N. Russell, Assistant Professor
Music Education, Music History  
D.M.A, Ohio State University
M.M., Pennsylvania State University
B.S., Pennsylvania State University
mnrussell@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 515
Phone: (757) 823-9199

Gerald E. Thompson Gerald E. Thompson, Instructor
Music Technology Coordinator
M.M., Norfolk State University
B.A., Norfolk State University
Pro Tools Certified Operator Pro Media ACI
gethompson@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 609
Phone: (757) 823-9267

Stephanie K. SandersStephanie K. Sanders, Assistant Professor
Director of Jazz Ensemble, Assistant Director of Bands
M.M., University of Houston
B.M.E, Jackson State University
Additional Studies: Regent and Shenandoah Conservatory
sksanders@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 535
Phone: (757) 823-8360

DeVaughn Q. Scott-SmithDeVaughn Q. Scott-Smith, Assistant Professor
Woodwinds, Music Education,  
M.M., Norfolk State University
B.S., Norfolk State University
dqscott-smith@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 527
Phone: (757) 823-9180

Alan Reese, Adjunct Instructor
Brasswinds, Theory, Applied Trumpet and French Horn, Humanities  
M.M., Norfolk State University
M.Ch.M., Concordia University Wisconsin
B.A., Indiana University of Pennsylvania
adreese@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 613
Phone: (757) 823-9036

Dr. Bianca Jackson, Assistant ProfessorBianca-Jackson
Voice, African- American Music, Diction, Vocal Pedagogy  
DMA, The University of Texas at Austin
MM, The University of Louisiana at Monroe  BAs,Tougaloo College
bkjackson@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 401
Phone: (757) 823-8575

Peter DuBeau, Adjunct Instructor
Brasswinds  
M.M., University of Michigan
B.M., Northwestern University
pcdubeau@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 605

Rogers Brown, Adjunct Instructor
Music Technology
M.M., University of Michigan
B.M.E., Louisiana Tech
rbrown@nsu.edu
Office: FAB 225
Phone: (757) 823-9267

Anastasia Migliozzi, Adjunct Professor