Skip to main content

Cybersecurity

Cybersecurity at Norfolk State

Norfolk State University is positioned to be a national leader in cyber related research and education, providing opportunities for students to learn about the theory and practice of Information Assurance and Cybersecurity. The programs address the nation’s growing need for a diverse group of qualified cybersecurity professionals.

The Cybersecurity Complex located in the Marie V. McDemmond Center for Applied Research, includes data centers and research labs that provide training for students in areas that include: cloud computing, big data analytics, digital forensics, wireless security, cyber-psychology, socio-cybersecurity and more. As a leader in cybersecurity education and research, the Cybersecurity Complex prepares today’s students to provide tomorrow’s cybersecurity solutions.

Below are some of the key designations held by Norfolk State University for its education and research programs in cybersecurity.

Cybercorps Scholarship for Service School
Intellegence Community Center for Academic Excellence
National Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense Research

Cybersecurity Education Programs

Undergraduate

cyber-image-01.jpg
The Department of Computer Science offers a BS in Computer Science with tracks in:

Graduate

cyber-image-02.jpg
Norfolk State University offers a Master of Science in:


  Request Information

 

Student Scholarship Opportunities

  • CyberCorps Scholarship for Service
  • Center of Excellence in Cybersecurity
  • Center of Excellence in Governance, Research, and Education

Cybersecurity Research Centers and Labs


Faculty

 

Dr. Aurelia Williams
Executive Director,
Cybersecurity Complex
Email: atwilliams@nsu.edu
Tel: 757-823-2615
 

Dr. Jonathan Graham
Director, IA-REDI
Email: jmgraham@nsu.edu
Phone: 757-823-9445

Dr. George Hsieh
Director, Cybersecurity COE
Email: ghsieh@nsu.edu
Tel: 757-823-8313
 

Dr. Claude Turner
Associate Professor and Chair
Computer Science Dept
Email: cturner@nsu.edu
Tel: 757-823-8311

Dr. Scott Debb
CyberPsychology Research &
Program Coordinator
Email: smdebb@nsu.edu
Phone: 757-823-8943

Dr. Mary Hoppa
MS Cybersecurity Graduate
Program Coordinator
Email: mahoppa@nsu.edu
Phone: 757-823-8654

Dr. Cheryl Hinds
Associate Professor
Email: chinds@nsu.edu
Phone: 757-823-9551
 

Dr. Felicia Doswell
Associate Professor
Email: fdoswell@nsu.edu
Phone: 757-823-9453
 

Dr. Thorna Humphries
Associate Professor
Email: thumphries@nsu.edu
Phone: 757-823-8318
 

Dr. Yen-Hung Hu
BS. ITE Program Coordinator
Email: yhu@nsu.edu
Phone: 757-823-8308
 

Dr. Moe Masiane
mmmasiane@nsu.edu
Phone: 757-823-9106

tonya fields photo

Tonya Fields
Operations Officer of the
Cybersecurity Complex
tlfield@nsu.edu
Phone: 757-823-0057

Dr. Abdinur Ali
Associate Professor
Department of Mathematics
Email: amali@nsu.edu
Phone: 757-823-9567

Jules Chenou photoDr. Jules Chenou
Email: jchenou@nsu.edu
Phone: 757-823-0057