# BOARD OF VISITORS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

August 27, 2021

#### **MINUTES**

#### 1. Call to Order

Mr. Devon Henry, Rector called the Executive Committee meeting to order at approximately 11:45 a.m. A quorum was established with a 4-0 Roll Call.

### Committee Members Present

Mr. Devon M. Henry, Rector

Ms. Mary L. Blunt, Vice Rector

Bishop Kim W. Brown, Secretary

Dr. Terri L. Best

#### Committee Member Absent:

Ms. Joan G. Wilmer

# Board Members (listening purposes only)

The Honorable James W. Dyke, Jr. (via electronic means – Zoom Webinar)

Mr. Delbert Parks

#### **NSU** Administrators and Staff Present

Dr. Javaune Adams-Gaston, President

Dr. Justin L. Moses, VP for Operations & Chief Strategist for Institutional Effectiveness

Dr. Doveanna Fulton, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Dr. Gerald E. Hunter, Vice President for Finance and Administration

Ms. Derika L. Burgess, Chief Audit Executive

Dr. Dawn M. Hess, Chief Compliance Officer

Ms. Melody M. Webb, Director, Athletics

Ms. Tanya S. White, Chief of Staff

Mr. Rasool A. Shabazz, Project Engineer, Office of Information Technology

Mrs. April T. Allbritton, Office Manager/Board Liaison

#### Counsel Present

Ms. Pamela F. Boston, University Counsel and Senior Assistant Attorney General

Mr. Cory J. Wolfe, Assistant University Counsel

#### **Faculty Present**

Dr. Tony Atwater, President, Faculty Senate and Professor Mass Communications and Journalist

Dr. Geoffroy de Laforcade, Vice President Faculty Senate and Professor, Latin American, Caribbean and World History

#### **BOARD OF VISITORS**

Executive Committee August 27, 2021 Page 2

<u>Observers</u> (via electronc means – Zoom Webinar)

Mr. Ronald Forehand, Legal Assistant

Mr. Johnnie Jefferson, Auditor, City of Virginia Beach, VA

Dr. Lamiaa S. Youssef, Special Assistant to the Provost

## 2. Recommend Approval of Virtual Participation

Rector Henry was able to participate in person. No motion required for this item on the agenda.

# 3. Recommend Approval of Prior Meeting Minutes

Ms. Blunt motioned, seconded by Bishop Brown and with a 4-0 Roll Call vote, the Committee approved the Emergency Executive Committee Meeting minutes for April 15, 2021, and the Executive Committee Meeting minutes for August 10, 2018.

# 4. Election of the 2021-2022 Faculty Representative to the Board

Bishop Brown motioned, seconded by Ms. Blunt and with a 4-0 Roll Call vote the Committee approved Dr. Geoffroy de Laforcade as the 2021-2022 Faculty Representative to the Board.

#### 5. Public Comment

Rector Henry asked for public comment. There being none, a motion was made to adjourn.

# 6. Adjournment

Ms. Blunt motioned, seconded by Dr. Best and with a 4-0 Roll Call vote, the Committee moved to adjourn the meeting at approximately 11:55 a.m.

| Respectf | fully submitted,        |
|----------|-------------------------|
| Inda Wa  | lker, Board Liaison     |
|          | Kim W. Brown, Secretary |
| Board of | Visitors                |

# NSU BOV EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ROLL CALL VOTE AUGUST 27, 2021

| Item   | Mr.<br>Henry | Ms.<br>Blunt | Bishop<br>Brown | Dr.<br>Best | Ms.<br>Wilmer | Totals |
|--|--------------|--------------|-----------------|-------------|---------------|--------|
| Quorum   | Present      | Present      | Present         | Present     | Absent        | 4-0    |
| Approved Meeting Minutes   | Yes          | Yes          | Yes             | Yes         | Absent        | 4-0    |
| Dr. Geoffroy de Laforcade voted as the 2021-2022 Faculty Representative to the Board | Yes          | Yes          | Yes             | Yes         | Absent        | 4-0    |
| Approved to Adjourn  | Yes          | Yes          | Yes             | Yes         | Absent        | 4-0    |