DRAFT

BOARD OF VISITORS GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE MEETING

April 15, 2025

MINUTES

1. Call to Order

The Governance Committee Meeting was called to order at approximately 11:55 a.m. A quorum was established with a 4-0 Roll Call Vote.

Committee Members Present

Mrs. Heidi Abbott, Chair

Dr. Katrina Chase, Secretary

Mr. Gilbert Bland

Other Board Members Present

Mr. Jay Jamison

Committee Members Virtual

Mr. Mike Andrews

Committee Members Absent

Mr. Delbert Parks

NSU Administrators and Staff Present

Dr. Javaune Adams-Gaston, President

Ms. Pamela F. Boston, University Counsel and Senior Assistant Attorney General

Mr. Eric Claville, Executive Advisor to the President for Government Relations

Dr. Tanya S. White, Chief of Staff

Dr. Aurelia T. Williams, Senior Vice Provost, Office of the Provost

Mr. Clifford Porter, Vice President, University Advancement

Dr. Leonard Brown, Vice President for Student Affairs

Mrs. Derika Burgess, Chief Audit Executive

Dr. Dawn Hess, Chief Compliance Officer

Mr. Peter Glanville, Information Technology

Ms. Monica Reid, Senior Executive Assistant, Office of the Provost

Ms. Sher're Dozier, Clerk to the University President for the Board of Visitors

Mr. Christopher Gregory, Office of Information Technology

2. Recommend Approval of Electronic Participation

Mr. Mike Andrews provided his reason for Electronic Participation. Mr. Jay Jamison motioned, seconded by Dr. Katrina Chase and with a 4-0 Roll Call vote, the Committee unanimously approved the virtual participation of Board Members, Mr. Mike Andrews.

3. Recommend Approval of the February 11, 2025, Governance Committee Minutes

The Committee voted and unanimously approved with a 4-0 Roll Call Vote, the Minutes for the February 11, 2025, Committee Meeting, motioned by Mr. Gilbert Bland, and seconded by Dr. Katrina Chase.

4. Old Business

None

5. New Business

Mr. Eric Claville provided an update on the Bills that were recently discussed on February 11, 2025, Committee Meeting. Mr. Claville also informed of the bills that did not pass.

6. Update: General Assembly and SCHEV

Mrs. Heidi Abbott addressed the recommendations for Rector, Vice Rector, and Secretary. Mrs. Abbott also highlighted The Honorable James Dyke, Jr., and Dr. Harold Watkins, II; both Board of Visitors Members terms are up, and each are willing to serve again. Mrs. Abbott also informed that the Full Board will elect two at large members for the Executive Committee, which will take place at the May Board meeting.

Mrs. Abbott requested nominations for the position of Rector.

Mr. Bland motion to nominate Bishop Kim W. Brown as Rector, seconded by Mr. Andrews, and with a 4-0 Roll Call Vote the Board unanimously approved.

Mrs. Abbott requested nominations for the position of Vice Rector.

Dr. Chase motion to nominate Mr. Dwayne B. Blake as Vice Rector, seconded by Mr. Jamison, and with a 4-0 Roll Call Vote the Board unanimously approved.

Mrs. Abbott requested nominations for the position of Secretary.

Mr. Jamison motion to nominate Dr. Katrina Chase as Secretary, seconded by Mrs.

Abbott, and with a 4-0 Roll Call Vote the Board unanimously approved.

7. Other Discussion Items

None

8. Adjournment

There being no further business, Mrs. Heidi Abbott adjourned the meeting at 12:09 p.m. Dr. Katrina Chase motion to adjourned, seconded by Mr. Andrews, and with a 4-0 Roll Call Vote the Board unanimously approved.

Respectfully submitted,
Heidi Abbot, Chair Governance Committee
Sher're Dozier, Clerk to the University President for the
Board of Visitors

NSU BOV GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE ROLL CALL VOTE FEBRUARY 11, 2025

Item	Mrs. Heidi Abbott (Chair)	Mr. Delbert Parks	Dr. Katrina Chase	Mr. Mike Andrews	Mr. Gilbert Bland	Mr. Jay Jamison	Totals
Quorum	Yes	Absent	Yes	Virtual	Yes	Yes	4-0
Recommendation Approval of Electronic Participation	Yes	A	Yes	V	Yes	Yes	4-0
Approval of the Minutes	Yes	A	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	4-0
Approval to Nominate Bishop Kim W. Brown as Rector	Yes	A	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	4-0
Approval to Nominate Mr. Dwayne B. Blake as Vice Rector	Yes	A	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	4-0
Approval to Nominate Dr. Katrina Chase	Yes	A	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	4-0
Adjournment	Yes	A	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	4-0