Governance Committee Meeting February 11, 2025

# BOARD OF VISITORS GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE MEETING

# February 11, 2025 MINUTES

#### 1. Call to Order

The Governance Committee Meeting was called to order at approximately 12:35 p.m. A quorum was established with a 3-0 Roll Call Vote.

### **Committee Members Present**

Dr. Katrina Chase, Secretary

#### **Other Board Members Present**

Mr. Dwayne Blake, Vice Rector

Mr. Jay Jamison

#### **Committee Members Virtual**

Mrs. Heidi Abbott, Chair

Mr. Mike Andrews

Mr. Gilbert Bland

#### **Committee Members Absent**

Mr. Delbert Parks

#### **NSU Administrators and Staff Present**

Dr. Javaune Adams-Gaston, President

Ms. Pamela F. Boston, University Counsel and Senior Assistant Attorney General

Mr. Eric Claville, Executive Advisor to the President for Government Relations

Dr. DoVeanna Fulton, Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs

Dr. Aurelia T. Williams, Senior Vice Provost, Office of the Provost

Dr. Gerald Ellsworth Hunter, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Finance and Administration

Mr. Clifford Porter, Vice President, University Advancement

Dr. Justin L. Moses, Vice President for Operations, and Institutional Effectiveness

Governance Committee Meeting February 11, 2025

Dr. Leonard Brown, Vice President for Student Affairs

Mrs. Derika Burgess, Chief Audit Executive

Dr. Dawn Hess, Chief Compliance Officer

Dr. Melody Webb, Athletics Director

Ms. Sher're Dozier, Clerk to the University President for the Board of Visitors

Mr. Christopher Gregory, Office of Information Technology

#### 2. Recommend Approval of Electronic Participation

Mrs. Heidi Abbott, Mr. Mike Andrews, and Mr. Gilbert Bland, provided their reason for Electronic Participation. Mr. Jay Jamison motioned, seconded by Dr. Katrina Chase and with a 3-0 Roll Call vote, the Committee unanimously approved the virtual participation of Board Members, Mrs. Heidi Abbott, Mr. Mike Andrews, and Mr. Gilbert Bland.

3. Recommend Approval of the November 21, 2024, Governance Committee Minutes

The Committee voted and unanimously approved with a 3-0 Roll Call Vote, the Minutes for the November 21, 2024, Committee Meeting, motioned by Dr. Katrina Chase, and seconded by Mr. Dwayne Blake.

4. Old Business

None

#### 5. New Business

Mr. Dwayne Blake informed that himself and Mr. Jay Jamison were appointed to serve on the Governance Committee for the February 11, 2025 meeting.

6. Update: University Policies

Mrs. Heidi Abbott provided a reminder that the Governance Committee reviews the University Policies and Procedures.

7. Update: General Assembly Proposed Bills and SCHEV Policies

Governance Committee Meeting

February 11, 2025

Mr. Eric Claville provided insights into bills that will impact the Board of Visitors across the States. Mr. Claville reviewed five bills that are aligned with the institution and provided a brief description for each.

- HB1621 Delegate Laufer : Higher educational institutions, public; governing boards, nonvoting, advisory representatives.
- HB2421 Delegate Webert / SB1217 Senator Deeds: Baccalaureate public institutions of higher education; intercollegiate athletics programs; certain intrastate competition required.
- HB2452 Delegate Hodges: Baccalaureate public institutions of higher education; livestreaming, recording, and archiving boards of visitors meetings; closed sessions; guidelines.
- SB1247 Senator Durant / HB2186 Delegate Freitas: Public institutions of higher education; certain grants from and partnerships and agreements with foreign countries of concern prohibited; report.
- SB771 Senator Diggs: Christopher Newport University Board of Visitors; annual meetings.
  - 8. Other Discussion Items

None

#### 9. Adjournment

There being no further business, Mrs. Heidi Abbott adjourned the meeting at 1:45p.m. The Committee voted and unanimously approved with a 3-0 Roll Call Vote. Motioned by Mr. Dwayne Blake and second Dr. Katrina Chase.

Governance Committee Meeting February 11, 2025

Respectfully submitted,
Heidi Abbot, Chair Governance Committee
Sher're Dozier, Clerk to the University President for the
Board of Visitors

Governance Committee Meeting February 11, 2025

# NSU BOV GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE ROLL CALL VOTE FEBRUARY 11, 2025

Item	Mrs. Heidi Abbott (Chair)	Mr. Delbert Parks	Dr. Katrina Chase	Mr. Mike Andrews	Mr. Gilbert Bland	Mr. Jay Jamison	Mr. Dwayne Blake	Totals
Quorum	Virtual	Absent	Yes	Virtual	Virtual	Yes	Yes	3-0
Recommendation Approval of Electronic Participation	V	A	Yes	V	V	Yes	Yes	3-0
Approval of the Minutes	Yes	A	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	3-0
Adjournment	Yes	A	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	3-0