Skip to main content

Contact Us

William Beathea, Assistant Professor
Director of Bands, Applied Percussion 
M.A., Eastern Illinois University 
B.A., Ball State University 
whbeathea@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 431 
Phone: (757) 328-6184

Dr.Anne Neikirk, Assistant Professor
Composition, Music Theory 
DMA, Temple University 
MM, Bowling Green State University 
BA, Hamilton 
alneikirk@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 415 
Phone: (757) 823-9112

Terry Butler, Instructor
Choir, Piano 
M.M., Norfolk State University 
B.S., Norfolk State University 
Additional Studies at Westminster Choir College, Ryder University 
twbutler@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 315 
Phone: (757) 823-9521

Dr. Sam Dorsey, Professor of Music
Music – Graduate Coordinator, Guitar, Music History   Ph.D., The Catholic University of America 
M.M., Virginia Commonwealth University 
B.M., University of North Carolina Greensboro 
sbdorsey@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 501 
Phone: (757) 823-8359

Frank T. Elliott, Instructor
Director, NSU Vocal Jazz Ensemble; Secondary Piano Coordinator   
M.M., Norfolk State University 
B.S., Norfolk State University 
(In progress) D.M.A., Boston University 
ftelliott@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 525 
Phone: (757) 823-8197

Gregory Gardner, Instructor
Voice, Music Appreciation   
M.M., Howard University 
B.M., Howard University 
Certificate, Académie Internationale de Musique Maurice Ravel 
gwgardner@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 529 
Phone: (757) 823-8581

Dr. Susan C. Ha, Assistant Professor
Piano   
D.M.A, University of Cincinnati College – Conservatory of Music 
M.M., University of Cincinnati College – Conservatory of Music 
B.M., James Madison University 
scha@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 531 
Phone: (757) 823-8582

Dr. Patricia Saunders-Nixon, Associate Professor
Voice 
D.M.A., Shenandoah University 
M.M., Norfolk State University 
B.A., Norfolk State University 
psnixon@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 301 
Phone: (757) 823-8577

Dr. Matthew N. Russell, Assistant Professor
Music Education, Music History   
D.M.A, Ohio State University 
M.M., Pennsylvania State University 
B.S., Pennsylvania State University
mnrussell@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 515 
Phone: (757) 823-9199

Stephanie K. Sanders, Assistant Professor
Director of Jazz Ensemble, Assistant Director of Bands 
M.M., University of Houston 
B.M.E, Jackson State University 
Additional Studies: Regent and Shenandoah Conservatory 
sksanders@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 535 
Phone: (757) 823-8360

DeVaughn Q. Scott-Smith, Assistant Professor
Woodwinds, Music Education,   
M.M., Norfolk State University 
B.S., Norfolk State University 
dqscott-smith@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 527 
Phone: (757) 823-9180

Gerald E. Thompson, Instructor
Music Technology   
M.M., Norfolk State University 
B.A., Norfolk State University 
Pro Tools Certified Operator Pro Media ACI 
gethompson@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 609 
Phone: (757) 823-9267

Alan Reese, Adjunct Instructor
Brasswinds, Theory, Applied Trumpet and French Horn, Humanities   
M.M., Norfolk State University 
M.Ch.M., Concordia University Wisconsin 
B.A., Indiana University of Pennsylvania 
adreese@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 613 
Phone: (757) 823-9036

Peter DuBeau, Adjunct Instructor
Brasswinds   
M.M., University of Michigan 
B.M., Northwestern University 
pcdubeau@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 605

Rogers Brown, Adjunct Instructor
Music Technology   
M.M., University of Michigan 
B.M.E., Louisiana Tech 
rbrown@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 225 
Phone: (757) 823-9267

Eric Jackson, Adjunct Instructor
Music Technology   
M.M., Middle Tennessee State University 
B.S., Norfolk State University 
edjackson@nsu.edu 
Office: FAB 225 
Phone: (757) 823-9267

Anastasia Migliozzi, Adjunct Professor