

We see the future in you.

Faculty Senate Meeting

Agenda

April 15, 2025

Brown Memorial Hall #230: 12:30pm to 2:00pm

Facilitator: Dr. Robert K. Perkins, Faculty Senate President

Call to Order and Welcome

Dr. Robert K. Perkins, President

- Senators, Faculty Members and Guests
- Special Guests: VP Brianna Williams, Dr. Shantya Plater, and Mr. Todd Vandenbark

Adoption of Agenda

Adoption of Minutes

Foci for 2023-24

- Actualizing and Emphasizing Shared Governance
- Examining and Incorporating Artificial Intelligence in the Learning Experience
- Increase Faculty Unity across Disciplines

Old Business

- Faculty Senate Office space
- Faculty Workload Report
- Faculty Emeritus Selection Process
- Sabbatical Application (waiting on response from Provost)
- Update on FS Office space in the library

New Business

- Town Hall Meeting Debriefing
- VPAR Senators update
- AAUP update
- AI Committee
- Title IX (Faculty responsibilities)
- Student Engagement Survey (FSSE)
 - BOV Policy #35 Intellectual Property (IP) Policy (Dr. Zhou)
 - 3 members needed by elections
- Marketing and Communications Council
 - need a Faculty Senate representative

Dr. Batina Martin Dr. Claude Turner

VP Brianna Williams

Dr. Shantya Plater

٠



NORFOLK STATE UNIVERSITY

We see the future in you.

- BOV Representatives for 2025-26
- University-wide sample syllabus committee has been formed
 - Dr. Joseph D'Silva
 - Dr. Bernadette J. Holmes

Standing Committee Reports (2 to 5 minutes)

- Constitution and Bylaws
- Elections and Nominations
- Faculty Evaluation Policies and Procedures Cynthia Burwell (EDU)
- Faculty Handbook Revision
- Faculty Status and Welfare
- Grievance Advisory
- State Representative
- Graduate School Representative
- Strategic Planning Committee
- OER Committee
- Open Floor (Concerns & Suggestions)
- Closing

Micheal Parker (CSET) S Cynthia Burwell (EDU) Cassandra Newby-Alexander (COLA) Batrina Martin (CSET) Colita Fairfax (SWK) Colita Fairfax (SWK) Timothy Goler (COLA) George Miller (CSET) Charles Ford (COLA)

Cathy Jackson (COLA)

Dr. Robert K. Perkins, President