

Faculty Senate Meeting

Agenda

November 14, 2023

Nursing and General Education Building: 12:30pm to 1:30pm

(Lunch starting at noon)

Facilitator: Dr. Robert K. Perkins, Faculty Senate President

- Welcome
- Adoption of Minutes
- Foci for 2023-24
 - Create and institute a Faculty Senate Strategic Plan
 - Rebuild a long-lasting Faculty Senate infrastructure
 - Reinvigorate/Strengthen relationships and collaborations with entities across the University
 - Transparency and Accountability

• Old Business

- Faculty Workload Report (previous administration)
- One-year hires workload (previous administration)
- o Working on updating the website and Teams folder
- Update on University Committees
- FS President & Vice President meeting with faculty by ranks (Opening Session)
- o Generalist Administrative Assistant will provide support to the Faculty Senate
- Partner with Student Affairs for the NSU Inaugural Black Male Symposium
- Extended Learning's overreach into courses (syllabus quiz, announcements, and protocol)
 - First day activation (What do we want?)
 - Loaded course shells
- Fifth Week Grading Process
- Technology issues becoming worse
- Senate Budget for Next Cycle
- Thanksgiving Dinner for the Senate

• New Business

- o Invited Guests
 - Associate Vice President Anton Kashiri (Facilities Management)
 - Dean Michelle Marable (Dean of Students Office)
 - Campus Wellness committee Dr. Vanessa Jenkins
- o 100% Department Participation!!!
- Commencement Marshall for May
- Schedule a time for the security training for faculty
- Handbook compliance
- Updating the bylaws
- Human Resources new system that will be more comprehensive

• Standing Committee Reports (2 to 5 minutes)

- o Constitution and Bylaws
- o Elections and Nominations
- Faculty Evaluation Policies and Procedures Cynthia Burwell (EDU)
- Faculty Handbook Revision
- o Faculty Status and Welfare
- Grievance Advisory
- o Graduate School Representative
- o Strategic Planning Committee
- OER Committee
- Questions, Concerns, Suggestions?
- Closing

Dr. Robert K. Perkins, President

Thomas Lewis (BUS) Micheal Parker (CSET)

Batrina Martin (CSET)

Timothy Goler (COLA)

Colita Fairfax (SWK)

George Miller

Charles Ford

Cassandra Newby-Alexander