Skip to main content


Faculty Senate Standing Committees Membership List
October 2018

The sign-up sheet for volunteers was distributed to all Faculty Senate (FS) members via email prior to the FS meeting on September 18, 2018. Then it was circulated among all attendees during the FS meeting on September 18. The FS president also contacted faculty members at large who had expressed interest in serving on a university-wide committee but did not get a chance. The names of the faculty members who replied with their committee preferences were added to the membership list. The FS Executive Committee met on October 4, in lieu of October 9 that coincided with Fall Break, and voted to approve and nominate to the FS the names of the chairs and faculty who signed up for these committees. In the FS regular meeting on October 16, 2018, the FS approved, by majority vote, the committees membership list for 2018-2019.

  • The Constitution and Bylaws Committee shall maintain an up-to-date edition of the Faculty Senate Constitution and Bylaws, based on changes voted by the Senate and / or the Faculty at large, and forward appropriate recommendations for revision to the Faculty Senate for action.  

    Suely Black (Chair)
    James Curiel
    Aberra Meshesha
    Ron Thomas
    Lamiaa Youssef (FS President, ex officio member)

  • The Elections and Nominations Committee, The Elections and Nominations Committee, by April 15 of each year, shall plan and coordinate the annual election of officers of the Faculty Senate, four faculty representatives to the Executive Council who serve for two years with overlapping terms, and representatives to State Faculty Senate.

    Kathleen Thomas (Co-Chair)
    Anne Fernando (Co-Chair)
    Jacqueline C. Boone
    Angela Goodloe
    Gary Wilkens
    Lamiaa Youssef (FS President, ex officio member)

  • The Faculty Evaluation Policies and Procedures Committee shall monitor and make recommendations for changes in the annual faculty review process and procedures. This committee will meet as the Senate deems necessary.

    Anne Fernando (Chair)
    Ashley Haines
    Jason Sawyer
    Bidhu Mohanty
    Rasha Morsi
    Mona Bryant-Shanklin
    Maria Holmes
    Lamiaa Youssef (FS President, ex officio member)

  • The Faculty Handbook Revision Committee shall review, make recommendations, and maintain (in appropriate format) changes approved at all levels of the University governance, related to information outlined in the Teaching Faculty Handbook. This committee shall also periodically review the Teaching Faculty Handbook.

    Mamie Johnson (Chair)
    Ashley Haines
    Anne Fernando
    Bidhu Mohanty
    Rasha Morsi
    Lamiaa Youssef (FS President, ex officio member)

  • The Faculty Status and Welfare Advisory Committee shall review and make policy recommendations related to faculty appointment, tenure, promotion, salary, fringe benefits, and related matters. The committee will provide assistance to faculty members seeking advice in respect to filing grievance within the University. The Committee will also address issues related to shared governance, including assisting with interpretation of University policies and procedures as needed. This committee also serves as liaison with the AAUP representative on campus. This committee will meet as the Senate deems necessary. 

    Rasha Morsi (Chair)
    Geoffroy deLaforcade
    Kevin Jackson
    John Kamiru
    Bidhu Mohanty
    Felisa Smith
    Samuel Olatunbosun
    D'Nita Andrews-Graham
    Felisa Smith
    Lamiaa Youssef (FS President, ex officio member)

  • The Faculty Grievance Committee (per the 2018 Teaching Faculty Handbook)
    8.7.3 Faculty Senate Grievance Committee: Composition of the Committee: The primary vehicle for processing formal faculty grievances is the Faculty Senate Grievance Committee, which shall consist of five (5) full-time, tenured faculty members. The Faculty Senate President or his/her appointee serves as an ex officio member, serving as an adviser to the committee. The committee composition will be announced and posted on the Faculty Senate webpage. Elections and Terms of Service: Each college or school will elect a committee member in August. Colleges will hold elections in odd years, and schools on even years, allowing for the staggering of members’ service. Members will serve two consecutive years, commencing September 1 and ending on August 31 of the second year thereafter, and can be re-elected for another two years. The committee will elect a chair during its first meetings in the Norfolk State University Teaching Faculty Handbook 90 month of September. If a vacancy in a position on the committee occurs during midterm, a new election will take place to identify a new college or school representative. The individual designated to fill the position shall serve until the expiration of the original term. Members of the committee shall make diligent efforts to attend all meetings of the committee. The committee may declare vacant the position of a member who is absent from two (2) committee meetings during the course of a year.


Dr. Rasha Morsi (CSET), Chair

Dr. Beatrice Darden-Melton (Education)

Dr. Reddi Dondeti (Business)

Dr. Karen Holmes (COLA)

Dr. Viola Vaughan-Eden (Social Work)

Dr. Lamiaa Youssef (Faculty Senate President)