

BOARD OF VISITORS

700 Park Ave., HBW Suite 520, Norfolk, Virginia 23504 P: 757-823-8670 | F: 757-823-2342 | nsu.edu

AGENDA

Board of Visitors and Norfolk State University Foundation, Inc. BOV/NSUF LIAISON COMMITTEE MEETING

Thursday, November 16, 2023 Dr. Harold L. Watkins, Chair 9:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.

Campus Location:

Norfolk State University, 700 Park Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23504

- H. B. Wilson Hall, Suite 530
- I. Call to Order/Establish Quorum
 - II. Recommend Approval of the November 16, 2022 Committee Minutes
 - III. Discussion Items
 - a. Discussion of BOV 2022-2023 Compliance Report
 - b. Discussion of NSU Foundation and Subsidiary Statements
 - c. Progress update on efforts to align all foundations at Norfolk State

University IV. Public Comment

V. Adjournment

Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee

Dr. Harold L. Watkins, Chair Gilbert Bland Dr. Katrina Chase BK Fulton

Staff:

Clifford Porter, VP University Advancement

The President participates in all Committee meetings.



*All meetings of all committees are noticed for meeting at 8:30 a.m. on April 11, 2023. Committee Meetings will meet sequentially in the order listed. The meeting of each public body will begin 10 minutes following adjournment of the prior meeting. Thus, the specific times shown for the various meetings are approximate only, and meetings may start earlier than the listed approximate start time. In

compliance with the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, please be advised that during the course of this meeting there will be no opportunity for public comment (except where indicated).

BOARD OF VISITORS

700 Park Ave., HBW Suite 520, Norfolk, Virginia 23504 P: 757-823-8670 | F: 757-823-2342 | nsu.edu

In accordance with Memorandum of Understanding between the NSU Foundation and Norfolk State University, a Liaison Committee shall monitor the relationship of the parties and attempt to resolve questions and concerns of the parties, including but not limited to, annual review of the Memorandum of Understanding, the management of stipend fees, priorities for fund solicitations or other issues affecting the relationship of the parties.

Composition of Liaison Committee

Members	Name	Voting/Non-Voting
NSU Foundation Board President or his/her designee	Ms. Carla Bailey	Voting
NSUF Board Vice President	Ms. Lorie McCowan	Voting
NSUF Development Chair	Mr. Earl Lee	Voting
Chair, NSU BOV/NSUF Liaison Committee	Dr. Harold L. Watkins, II, Chair	Voting
Member of the Board of Visitors appointed by the Rector	Mr. BK Fulton	Voting
Member of the Board of Visitors appointed by the Rector	Mr. Gilbert Bland	Voting
Member of the Board of Visitors appointed by the Rector	Dr. Katrina Chase	Voting
President of the University	Dr. Javaune Adams-Gaston	Non-Voting
Vice President of University Advancement	Mr. Clifford Porter	Non-Voting

NSUF Executive Director	Ms. Crystal Jenkins	Non-Voting
-------------------------	---------------------	------------

Format:

A quorum for a meeting of the Liaison Committee shall be two representatives from the Board of Visitors and the NSU Foundation.

Frequency: At least annually

^{*}All meetings of all committees are noticed for meeting at 8:30 a.m. on April 11, 2023. Committee Meetings will meet sequentially in the order listed. The meeting of each public body will begin 10 minutes following adjournment of the prior meeting. Thus, the specific times shown for the various meetings are approximate only, and meetings may start earlier than the listed approximate start time. In compliance with the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, please be advised that during the course of this meeting there will be no opportunity for public comment (except where indicated).